Student Research Grants

The Society for Georgia Archaeology (SGA), Georgia Council of Professional Archaeologists (GCPA), and Georgia Department of Natural Resources are sponsoring undergraduate and graduate student research grants. In the spring of each year, a total of three research grants will be offered. Two grants of $375.00 will be awarded to support undergraduate research projects, and one grant of $2,000.00 will be awarded for thesis or dissertation research.

Eligible projects must be directly relevant to Georgia archaeology, including but not limited to, a particular site or group of sites, a collection, or theoretical issue of particular relevance to the state. Applications will include a written proposal, a budget, and supporting tables and graphics. Additional details are included in the downloadable application.

Download the Application

Jerald Ledbetter Award

We are pleased to announce the Year 2020 winners of the Jerald Ledbetter Special Award for Archaeology at the Georgia State Social Studies Fair, which was held online this year due to COVID-19 restrictions. The two recipients were announced in May of this year and were Lincoln Maloney from Pine Mountain Middle School for his project titled “How did the Nile Affect the Ancient Egyptians” and Alex Watkins from Freedom Middle School for his project titled “Finder’s Keepers: Should Mungo Man Have been Reburied?”. Congratulations to them both!

Currently, the Regional and State Social Studies Fairs have been postponed until the 2021-22 school year. However, we encourage participants to periodically check with the Georgia Council for Social Studies’ website at for updates.

Joseph Caldwell Award

In 1991, the SGA created the Joseph R. Caldwell Award to recognize an archaeologist who has exemplified the ideals and worked to advance the mission of the SGA. The Caldwell Award recognizes those individuals dedicating a noteworthy amount of time and energy toward supporting an archaeological project; making outstanding contributions in the area of public education and Georgia archeology; and providing substantial support for SGA and its programs over time.

A nominee of the Caldwell Award embodies four criteria:

  1. The nominee should have dedicated a significant amount of time and energy in support of an archaeological project
  2. The nominee has made outstanding contributions in the area of public education of Georgia archaeology
  3. The nominee has filled a critical role in fundraising in support of ongoing archaeological programs and/or projects
  4. The nominee has provided substantial support for SGA and its programs for a significant number of years

The most recent recipient was Tammy F. Herron. who received the award in 2018.

Read about Tammy's contributions to Georgia archaeology here.

George S. Lewis Archaeological Stewardship Award.

The George S. Lewis Archaeological Stewardship Award was first presented in 1999 and is given to a Georgian who has made an outstanding contribution in the areas of archaeological research or preservation. The award is in honor of the late George S. Lewis, archaeologist and past SGA President who’s contributions to Georgia and southeastern archaeology have had a lasting legacy.

See Also

Read Next

Granite from Elberton

Submitted by Sammy Smith ([email protected]) Elberton is a community east-northeast of Atlanta, not far from the state line. Elberton is atop the northern end of a subterranean deposit of granite that extends southwest past Lexington.

Read More